Training

All those interested in volunteering with the Newseum are required to complete the following training:

Spring 2016 Session Calendar

CORE Training

Volunteers are introduced to the Newseum and its founding company, the Freedom Forum. Day one is spent reviewing general building policies and touring the museum from two different perspectives: content/building navigation and evacuation of the building. Day two reviews customer service the “Newseum way,” including an overview of the Newseum’s obligations under Title III of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Volunteers tour the building from a Visitor Services’ perspective and learn the floor positions they will be required to cover during their first few weeks of volunteering.

Date Time
Saturday and Sunday, January 30 – 31 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Tuesday and Wednesday, February 9 – 10 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.

 

Guide Program Introduction

Volunteers are introduced to three types of tours they will conduct for visitors—Three-Point (3PT), Guided Highlights and Private Tours. 3PTs are 5- to 15-minute tours in a single gallery and provide a link between three artifacts, objects or images sharing a common theme. Guided Highlights Tours are 60-minute building tours designed to provide visitors with navigation information as well as a brief overview of the exhibits and galleries. Private Tours are 90-minute building tours featuring stops behind the scenes.

Date Time
Wednesday, February 17 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.
Saturday, February 20 10 a.m. – 1 p.m.

 

Modules (There are weekly homework assignments)

Volunteers explore the content of specific galleries in greater detail. Each content module covers two galleries and provides more in-depth information about the exhibits. Volunteers will create a 3PT script for each gallery during and/or after each class. Tour scripts are due before attendance at the next content module.

Galleries Date Time
Cox First Amendment/News Corp. News History Wednesday, March 2 6 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Cox First Amendment/News Corp. News History Saturday, March 5 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Pulitzer Prize Photographs/Bloomberg Internet, TV and Radio Wednesday, March 16 6 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Pulitzer Prize Photographs/Bloomberg Internet, TV and Radio Saturday, March 19 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Berlin Wall/Time Warner World News Wednesday, April 6 6 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Berlin Wall/Time Warner World News Saturday, April 9 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
FBI Exhibit/9-11 Gallery sponsored by Comcast Wednesday, April 20 6 p.m. to 9 p.m.
FBI Exhibit/9-11 Gallery sponsored by Comcast Saturday, April 23 10 a.m. – 1 p.m.

 

Tour Logistics (including Accessibility)

Volunteers explore solutions to common challenges involved with giving 3PTs, Guided Highlights and Private Tours. Once approved, volunteers are scheduled as guides.

Date Time
Wednesday, May 4 6 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday, May 7 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.

 

Practice Day

Volunteers are ready to conduct all eight of their 3PTs and their Guided Highlights Tour for an audience of their peers, including mentor guides, but will only be asked to demonstrate one 3PT and the Guided Highlights Tour for immediate feedback. Once approved, volunteers are scheduled as guides.

Date Time
Wednesday, May 18 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.
Saturday, May 21 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.

 
Final tour drafts must be turned in by Thursday, May 26.

Share