2017 Free Expression Awards

Free Expression Awards

Celebrating the World’s Champions of Free Expression

Honorees to be recognized at the Newseum April 4, 2019

2018 Free Expression Awards

If you are interested in sponsoring the 2019 Free Expression Awards, please contact Elizabeth Dickson at edickson@newseum.org or by calling 202/292-6371.

The Free Expression Awards is the signature annual benefit for the Newseum and Freedom Forum Institute, recognizing individuals for their courageous acts of, and contributions to, free and fearless expression. The 2019 Awards will bring together thought leaders, policymakers and philanthropists to celebrate those who are working in the areas of free speech, freedom of press, religious freedom and freedom in the arts and entertainment, and raise vital funds to support educational efforts that illuminate the importance of the First Amendment.


Katie Couric

Katie Couric

Award Recipients

Judy Woodruff

Judy Woodruff

Lifetime Achievement Award
Anchor & Managing Editor, PBS Newshour
Tarana Burke

Tarana Burke

Founder of the ‘me too.’ movement
Elizabeth Palmer

Elizabeth Palmer

Foreign correspondent, CBS News
Debora Patta

Debora Patta

Foreign correspondent, CBS News
Holly Williams

Holly Williams

Foreign correspondent, CBS News

Steering Committee

  • Mark and Sally Ein, Dinner Chairs
  • Bret Baier
  • Wolf Blitzer
  • John and Cynthia Lee
  • Andrea Mitchell
  • Catherine Merrill Williams

Honorary Host Committee

  • Senator Lamar Alexander
  • The Honorable Muriel Bowser, Mayor of Washington, DC
  • Senator Sherrod Brown
  • Senator Ben Cardin
  • Congresswoman Judy Chu
  • Congresswoman Virginia Foxx
  • Senator Chuck Grassley
  • Senator Maggie Hassan
  • Senator Angus King Jr.
  • Senator Patrick J. Leahy
  • Senator Bill Nelson
  • Congresswoman Eleanor H. Norton
  • Democratic Leader Charles E. Schumer
  • Senator Chris Van Hollen
  • Senator Mark Warner
  • Senator Elizabeth Warren
For a list of supporters of the 2018 Free Expression Awards please click HERE.