ProgramsPress ReleaseExhibit ArtifactsHarold Evans BiographyEvents Coverage



Schedule of Events


The Newseum offers a variety of special programs for the public. The daily schedule of events for the coming month is available below and updated weekly. It is also available by calling 703/284-3544.

NOTE: Seats fill up fast! Please arrive at least 10 minutes before each program you wish to attend. If you are interested in attending special Newseum events, please call 703/284-3527. All times Eastern.

Public programs available in the Newseum's state-of-the-art Broadcast Studio:

Saturday, June 9, 2001
2:30 - Inside Media with Kirk Spitzer, news director of USATODAY.com, discusses his experiences reporting on the Persian Gulf War and U.S. military deployments in Somalia, Bosnia and Haiti.

Sunday, June 10, 2001
3:00 - Inside Media with George Esper, veteran Associated Press correspondent, gives an in depth look at reporting on the Vietnam War.

Saturday, June 16, 2001
2:30 - Inside Media with Maria Mann, photo director for North America for Agence France-Presse, discusses her photos of "The children of Kosovo" taken during fighting in the Balkans.

Sunday, June 17, 2001
3:00 - Inside Media with Nancy Caldwell Sorel, author of The Women Who Wrote the War, tells little-known stories of female journalists who covered World War II.

Saturday, June 23, 2001
Family Day — "Waterford News: Women Reporting During the Civil War" 3 Quaker ladies of Waterford who produced pro-Union newspaper. Reenactment based on primary sources.

Sunday, June 24, 2001
3:00 - Inside Media with Rick Atkinson, assistant managing editor for projects and investigations for The Washington Post and writer of most of the Post's lead stories on the Gulf War discusses war coverage and his upcoming book on the history of the U.S. Army in WWII.

Thursday, June 28, 2001
Evening program — Vietnam War
William Hammond, military historian; Stanley Karnow, author; Bruce Morton, CNN; Laura Palmer, Nightline

Saturday, June 30, 2001
2:30 - Inside Media with Tom Gjelten, National Public Radio's diplomatic correspondent, discusses his experiences covering the Persian Gulf War and conflicts in Croatia, Bosnia, Central America and Panama.

Sunday, July 1, 2001
Inside Media — Tina Susman, Newsday

Saturday, July 7, 2001
Inside Media — Frank Aukofer, formerly of The Milwaukee Journal

Sunday, July 8, 2001
Inside Media — Jeff Williams, author, A Cambodian Odyssey: The Deaths of 25 Journalists

Saturday, July 14, 2001
Inside Media — Robert Stinnett, author, Day of Deceit: The Truth About FDR and Pearl Harbor; Thomas B. Allen, author and military intelligence expert

Sunday, July 15, 2001
Inside Media — Jed Duvall, formerly of CBS

Sunday, July 22, 2001
Inside Media — James Perry, retired Wall Street Journal report and author, A Bohemian Brigade: The Civil War Correspondents-Mostly Rough, Sometimes Ready

Saturday, July 28, 2001
Inside Media — Nate Thayer, freelance, working on book about Pol Pot

Sunday, July 29, 2001
Inside Media — Nancy Andrews, director of photography, Detroit Free Press

Saturday, August 4, 2001
Inside Media — Arnold Isaacs, journalist, covered last years of Vietnam War for the Baltimore Sun; author of Without Honor: Defeat in Vietnam and Cambodia and Vietnam Shadows: The War, Its Ghosts and Its Legacy

Sunday, August 5, 2001
Inside Media — Bill Gertz, defense correspondent, The Washington Times

Saturday, August 11, 2001
Inside Media — Robert Hodierne, freelance photographer in Vietnam from 1966 to 1967

Saturday, September 8, 2001
Inside Media — Jamie McIntyre, military affairs correspondent, CNN

Sunday, September 9, 2001
Inside Media — Joseph Galloway, U.S. News and World Report

CLICK HERE to view the full schedule of events at the Newseum