2017 Pulitzer Prize Winners Announced

On April 10 the Pulitzer Prize Board announced the winners of the 2017 Pulitzer Prizes. The announcement, made from Columbia University in New York, marks the 101st year of the prizes.

“The journalism winners include reporting that challenges powerful politicians and institutions, and exposes systematic abuse of people with little hope of defending themselves,” said Pulitzer Prize Administrator Mike Pride. “…The work that wins Pulitzer Prizes reminds us that we are not in a period of decline in journalism, rather, we are in the midst of a revolution.”

The Newseum congratulates the winners of the 2017 Pulitzer Prizes in journalism; which includes Washington Post reporter David Farenthold, who was awarded the prize for national reporting for his work during the 2016 presidential campaign. Fahrenthold will speak at the Newseum on Wednesday, April 12, during our event “The President and the Press: The First Amendment in the First 100 Days.”

In May, the Newseum will update its Pulitzer Prize Photographs Gallery to highlight the 2017 winners of the prize for feature and breaking news photography. In addition, the Newseum will unveil a new exhibit showcasing the Pulitzer Prize–winning editorial cartoons.

Nikon is the exclusive sponsor of “The Pulitzer Prize Photographs Gallery”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *