2018 Free Expression Awards

Celebrating the World’s Champions of Free Expression

Honorees were recognized at the Newseum April 17, 2018

At the third annual Free Expression Awards, the Newseum and Newseum Institute recognized those who exhibit passion for and dedication to free expression. Honorees have taken personal or professional risks in sharing critical information with the public, have been censored or punished by authorities or other groups for their work, or have pushed boundaries in artistic and media expression.

Award Recipients

Arthur Sulzberger Jr.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Chairman, The New York Times Company

Dr. John Carlos

1968 Olympic medalist, human rights activist

Dr. Tommie C. Smith

1968 Olympic medalist, human rights activist

Journalists who uncovered sexual misconduct in the workplace



John Seigenthaler

Former anchor and correspondent, NBC News

Honorary Host Committee

  • U.S. Senator Lamar Alexander
  • Mayor Muriel Bowser
  • Congressman Tony Cárdenas
  • Congresswoman Judy Chu
  • Congresswoman Yvette D. Clarke
  • H.E. Martin Dahinden, Ambassador of Switzerland to the United States of America
  • U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein
  • Congressman Bob Goodlatte
  • U.S. Senator Patrick J. Leahy
  • Governor Terry McAuliffe
  • U.S. Senator Bill Nelson
  • U.S. Senator John Thune
  • U.S. Senator Mark R. Warner

Steering Committee

  • Antoinette Bush
  • Ken and Jacqueline Duberstein
  • Catherine Merrill Williams
  • Andrea Mitchell
  • Judy Woodruff and Al Hunt